Ford ST/RS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Getting there...
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, after spending some time looking at the detailing posts I thought I would give the mondeo a clean myself instead of using the very nice polish people at my local garage.

I've started my collection with some meguiars gold class wash and a wash mit, and a large synthetic drying cloth. I gave it a good wash and it has come up well. However I can now see a lot of swirl marks and other minor imperfections. Looks like i'm gona have to invest in some more cleaning kit. I realy like the meguiars stuff so think I will stay with that.

I havn't only come here to rambled about how I cleaned my car today. I wanted to ask a question about polishing.

As I am new to the world of detailing I am not sure what to use. I have seen a meguiars 3 step kit which looks good, however will I get a good finish just polishing by hand instead of using a powered polisher?

Cheers

·
If your not first, your LAST...
2,968 Posts
Think you need a machine polisher to get swirls out m8....meguiars is great stuff though you couldnt go far wrong with it for general polishing :thumb:

·
Regular ST poster
602 Posts
Mattywat said:
However I can now see a lot of swirl marks and other minor imperfections.
Thats due to these hand washes they're no better than car washes in garages yet people seem to think they are. They ruin peoples cars by using sponges to clean the car and as its a quick service they dont let the dirt get soaked to break it down to soften it up too.

Both the sponge and the not soaking car before doing anything creates these swirls by marking the car with hard dirt trapped between the sponge and paint surface.

Best way to remove these "swirls" is use a polisher but you can do it by hand with lots of elbow grease.

·
Getting there...
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Damn, was hoping that wasn't the answer cause they ain't cheep!